10 Hidden Sources of Gluten

Flickr-licorice-oskayDr. Amy Myers, Guest
Waking Times

Whether you are newly gluten-free or it’s been a way of life for you for awhile now it is important to watch out for hidden sources of gluten.  The best possible way to avoid gluten is to eat non-packaged, real whole foods such as fruits, vegetables, fish, poultry and grass-fed beef.  My next article will discuss cross-contamination that can been seen even in other non-gluten grains and nuts and seeds.

It can be tough out there and I just want to arm you with the right resources to stay healthy and happy!

10 Hidden Sources of Gluten

1. Body and beauty products:

Lipstick, toothpaste, body lotion, shampoo, soap, conditioner, baby powder, and sunscreen.

2. Medications, supplements and herbal formulas:

Many of these have fillers like dextrin, which can come from corn or wheat.  There are several websites such as this one that will list those medications that are gluten-free.  All supplements that we have on my on-line store are gluten-free.

3. Playdough and paints:

Playdough is made from wheat flour, salt and water.

4. Stamps and envelopes:

The adhesive that makes stamps and envelopes stick can come from gluten.


  • 5. Candy:

    You must read the ingredients!  Licorice and many other solid candies are made from wheat flour.

    6. Sauces and condiments:

    Catsup, mayonnaise, mustard, tomato sauce, gravy and salad dressings can all contain gluten.

    7. Luncheon meat, Crab and Vegan ‘meats’:

    Wheat can be used a filler in luncheon meats, and of course most beef jerky contains soy sauce.  The ‘crab meat’ used in many sushi rolls, like California rolls, is imitation crabmeat and contains wheat as a stabilizer.  Many vegan ‘meats’ and veggie burgers are either made from wheat or contain one of the troublesome twenty ingredients.

    8. Alcohol:

    Beer of course contains gluten.  Distilled liquors such as vodka can be made from wheat and depending on your sensitivity you may need to steer clear of these.  Stick to tequila and potato and corn vodkas

    9. Scrambled eggs:

    Some restaurants add pancake batter to make eggs more fluffy or even buy a packaged egg product that already contains batter.  The waiter, or even chef, may be unaware they are using a product that contains wheat/gluten so make sure to ask questions!

    10. Mashed potatoes:

    Flour is sometimes added to thicken mashed potatoes.

    About the Author

    Dr. Amy Myers is the Founder and Medical Director of Austin UltraHealth, a functional medicine clinic in Austin, Texas. She is a medical doctor with extensive training in Functional Medicine, Integrative Medicine, and Nutrition. Dr. Myers has had a life-long passion for natural health and nutrition. After graduating Cum Laude from the Honors College at the University of South Carolina, she spent 2 1/2 years serving as a US Peace Corps Volunteer in Paraguay, South America. There she taught organic farming, nutrition and cooking classes, and cultivated and exported Stevia to the USA and Japan. Prior to medical school, she researched Noni Juice and its anti-tumor and anti-cancer properties and currently holds a US patent for that research. Dr. Myers applies all of the principles of Functional Medicine to her own life. In that way, she is not simply a physician but rather a role model and mentor for her patients.

    This article was originally published on www.dramymyers.com.

    Offgrid Outpost Presents Legacy Premium Emergency Food Storage

    Disclaimer: This article is not intended to provide medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Views expressed here do not necessarily reflect those of Waking Times or its staff.

    ~~ Help Waking Times to raise the vibration by sharing this article with the buttons below…

  •  

    We’re Also Uncensored On…


    -->